Road Race, 10am Bank Holiday Monday 6th May 2019 at The Waterfront Club, Whitstable, Kent

The race limit of 750 has already been reached for the 2019 Whitstable 10K and entries are now CLOSED

Demelza House Hospice Care for Children Demelza House Hospice Care for Children A pound from every entry will go to the Demelza House Hospice Care for Children charity

2002 Whitstable 10K Report

11:00 6 May 2002 at Waterfront Club, Whitstable

In remarkable result for an open senior road race, Charlotte Dale of Invicta East Kent beat all other runners in what is believed to be a British record for her age group, finishing in 33:05. It is not known exactly how many other women have beaten all their male counterparts in a road race with this number of finishers (404), although it certainly puts Charlotte in a very small, select band.

In the senior men's race, Andrew Holt (Herts Phoenix AC), who was second overall behind Charlotte, came home in 33:50, with the Deal Triathletes duo of Neil Renault (34:08) and David Chapman-Jones (34:45) taking the prizes behind him. Second and third place in the senior women's race were taken by Catherine Harvey (Medway AC, 41:50) and Mo Ovenden (Deal Tri, 43:06).

The men's veteran's categories were won as follows: M40 Ian Stokes (Invicta EK, 37:02); M45 Simon Elliott (Notts AC, 36:42); M50 Arthur McMaster (Unattached, 36:59); M55 Martyn Rouse (Invicta EK, 36:14); M60 Andrew Smith (Ashford AC, 41:16).

The women's veteran's categories were won as follows: F35 Sharon Hawkins (Maidstone Harriers, 41:08); F40 Christine Chapman (Unattached, 37:54); F45 Elisabeth Batty (Invicta EK, 41:02); F50 Ros Tabor (41:40); F55 June Johnson (Sevenoaks AC, 46:17).

Invicta East Kent took both the men's (Tatsuo Yoshiwara, Tim Sutton and James Rouse), and women's (Dale, Batty and Faye Roberts) team titles.

Female Winners
Sen 1st Charlotte Dale Invicta East Kent 33:05
Sen 2nd Catherine Harvey Medway AC 41:50
Sen 3rd Mo Ovenden Deal Tri 43:06
V35 1st Sharon Hawkins Maidstone Harriers 41:08
V40 1st Christine Chapman Unattached 37:54
V45 1st Elisabeth Batty Invicta East Kent 41:02
V50 1st Ros Tabor Dulwich Runners 41:40
V55 1st June Johnson Sevenoaks AC 46:17
Male Winners
Sen 1st Andrew Holt Herts Phoenix AC 33:50
Sen 2nd Neil Renault Deal Tri 34:08
Sen 3rd David Chapman-Jones Deal Tri 34:45
V40 1st Ian Stokes Invicta East Kent 37:02
V45 1st Simon Elliott Notts AC 36:42
V50 1st Arthur McMaster Unattached 36:59
V55 1st Martyn Rouse Invicta East Kent 36:14
V60 1st Andrew Smith Ashford AC 41:16

Last updated: Wed 18 July 2007 22:27:10 GMT
Sponsored by
Whitstable Bay Pale Ale
Presented by
Canterbury Harriers
Canterbury Harriers