Road Race, 10am Bank Holiday Monday 6th May 2019 at The Waterfront Club, Whitstable, Kent

The race limit of 750 has already been reached for the 2019 Whitstable 10K and entries are now CLOSED

Demelza House Hospice Care for Children Demelza House Hospice Care for Children A pound from every entry will go to the Demelza House Hospice Care for Children charity

2004 Whitstable 10K Report

11:00 3 May 2004 at Waterfront Club, Whitstable

Michael Coleman of Medway & Maidstone smashed the Whitstable 10K male course record by 1 minute and 21 seconds, finishing in 31:48 and coming ahead of 573 other competitors in Canterbury Harriers' popular May Bank Holiday event. His nearest challenger was clubmate Neil Renault (who was also runner-up last year), 47 seconds behind in 32:35, and third in 32:53 was last year's winner from Thrift Green Trotters, Ryan Prout.

In the women's race, Kerrie Clarke had an even more emphatic win than her Medway colleague, coming first in a time of 36:47, whilst runner-up Claire Colmer of Bexley AC was over a kilometre behind in a time of 41:04. Colmer managed to shake off Invicta East Kent veteran Elisabeth Batty who came third in a time of 41:22, a repeat of her showing in 2003.

The one-two of Coleman and Renault, together with the fourth place of Steve Clarke (32:57), resulted in a crushing victory for Medway & Maidstone in the men's team competition. In the women's team competition, Batty combined with fourth place Marilyn Grant (who was also first V40 in 42:21) and Lisa Clayton (20th in 46:34) for Invicta East Kent to take the prize ahead of Deal Tri.

Amongst the veterans, Theo Bately (Deal Tri) registered another success in a Canterbury Harriers-organised event, taking the V40 prize after winning the Red Lion 10K last August and Sue James (Paddock Wood AC) retained her V50 title at Whitstable in a time of 42:44.

The competitors enjoyed mainly benign conditions weather-wise, apart from a strengthening westerly breeze, with the race being completed before the rain that came to blight the rest of the Bank Holiday Monday.

Canterbury Harriers were grateful to both the Waterfront Club, who provided both the main sponsorship and the race HQ, and to Fosters Property Services who sponsored the race numbers. The race also could not have gone ahead without the many members and friends of Canterbury Harriers who helped with the organisation on the day.

Female Winners
1st Kerrie Clarke Medway & Maidstone AC 36:47
2nd Claire Colmer Bexley AC 41:04
3rd Elisabeth Batty Invicta East Kent 41:22
V35 1st Mairi Benson Unattached 42:38
V40 1st Marilyn Grant Invicta East Kent 42:21
V45 1st Susan Denton Unattached 45:59
V50 1st Sue James Paddock Wood AC 42:44
V55 1st Valerie Lindsey Paddock Wood AC 55:24
Male Winners
1st Michael Coleman Medway & Maidstone AC 31:48
2nd Neil Renault Medway & Maidstone AC 32:35
3rd Ryan Prout Thrift Green Trotters 32:53
V40 1st Theo Bately Deal Tri 34:18
V45 1st Alan Butler Thrift Green Trotters 36:37
V50 1st Paul Ross-Davies Invicta East Kent 37:11
V55 1st Martyn Rouse Invicta East Kent 37:28
V60 1st Alf Pollard Deal Tri 43:32

Last updated: Wed 18 July 2007 22:27:10 GMT
Sponsored by
Whitstable Bay Pale Ale
Presented by
Canterbury Harriers
Canterbury Harriers