Road Race, 10am Bank Holiday Monday 6th May 2019 at The Waterfront Club, Whitstable, Kent

The race limit of 750 has already been reached for the 2019 Whitstable 10K and entries are now CLOSED

Demelza House Hospice Care for Children Demelza House Hospice Care for Children A pound from every entry will go to the Demelza House Hospice Care for Children charity

2005 Whitstable 10K Report

11:00 2 May 2005 at The Waterfront Club, Whitstable

International athlete Charlotte Dale of Invicta East Kent AC repeated her feat of 2002 in beating the entire field at the 2005 Whitstable 10K held on Bank Holiday Monday 2nd May. In the process she beat her own female course record, finishing in 32:54. Her nearest male chalenger, Neil Renault of Medway and Maidstone AC, was some 20 seconds adrift, a testament to the quality of Charlotte's run on a day which rapidly grew hotter in the sunshine.

Amongst the women, Emma Harraden (Medway and Maidstone AC) came second in the creditable time of 39:28 but that was still over six and a half minutes behind Charlotte Dale. The gap to third was a bit shorter with Dale's Invicta colleague Janice Moorekite finishing in 39:58. Dale and Moorekite combined with Samantha Reid so that Invicta took the female team prize. Amongst the veteran women, Sue James of Medway and Maidstone AC took her third V50 title in a row at Whitstable and June Johnson (Sevenoaks) took her third V55 win at Whitstable in four years.

Behind Neil Renault in the men's competition were the fast improving Jonathan Holmans of host club Canterbury Harriers, who finished in 33:30, and David Lipscomb (Cambridge Harriers; 33:47). Renault led the Medway & Maidstone team to victory in the men's team competition (combining with Clayton Barrett and Robert Fursey) by the slimmest of margins, winning by total time having finished level on placings with Thrift Green Trotters. There was some consolation for Thrift Green with Stan Coleman winning the V55 competition.

This year the race donated £876 to the Dave Lee's Happy Holidays charity.

Female Winners
1st Charlotte Dale Invicta East Kent 32:54
2nd Emma Harraden Medway & Maidstone AC 39:28
3rd Janice Moorekite Invicta East Kent 39:58
V35 1st Catherine Hughes Dartford Road Runners 42:05
V40 1st Kim Howes Larkfield AC 43:22
V45 1st Carol Shepherd Thrift Green Trotters 47:34
V50 1st Sue James Paddock Wood AC 43:39
V55 1st June Johnson Sevenoaks AC 48:14
Male Winners
1st Neil Renault Medway & Maidstone AC 33:14
2nd Jonathan Holmans Canterbury Harriers 33:30
3rd David Lipscomb Cambridge Harriers 33:47
V40 1st Andy Holt Garden City Runners 35:12
V45 1st Richard Read Unattached 38:15
V50 1st Peter Sadler Sittingbourne Striders 39:34
V55 1st Stan Coleman Thrift Green Trotters 37:59
V60 1st Michael Conway Invicta East Kent 40:03

Last updated: Wed 18 July 2007 22:27:10 GMT
Sponsored by
Whitstable Bay Pale Ale
Presented by
Canterbury Harriers
Canterbury Harriers